USA Today/Pete Rogers Illustrations

Seattle Seahawks 2021 Fantasy Football Preview

There's plenty of value to be found in the Seahawks offense for 2021 fantasy football. Here's a breakdown of the roster for this season.

It has been a long time since the Super Bowl, and remembering exactly how things left off last year can be a challenge. So, I’ll be writing up a fantasy preview for each NFL team to give us a quick refresher on what happened last year, and what changes took place in the offseason. All fantasy stats will be in ESPN scoring format unless otherwise noted.

If I missed any change or left out any big notes, throw them down in the comments for me!

What Did They Do Last Year?

The Seahawks went 12-4, winning the NFC West before being upset by the six-seeded Los Angeles Rams. Pete Carroll sacrificed hamstrung offensive coordinator Brian Schottenheimer to atone for Pete Carroll’s playoff sin. 

Russell Wilson had a busy offseason prodding the Seahawks brass for more help on offense, and perhaps that had some influence on the team bringing in former Rams passing game coordinator Shane Waldron. The Seahawks showed they can be one of the spiciest offenses in the NFL last year, and there are plenty of 2021 fantasy football bargains to be had in Seattle. 

Quarterback
OVR
Rank
PlayerGCOMPATTYDSTDINTATTYDSTDFFPFFP/G
6Russell Wilson163845584,2124013835132357.822.4
76Geno Smith14533002-201.11.1

Russell Wilson is the best quarterback in football right now. Last season showed us the only thing holding Russell Wilson back, in fantasy terms at least, is coaching. 

Related: Is Russell Wilson’s Jekyll and Hyde Season Last Year Reason to Worry?

The big question for fantasy drafters is: Will this new Seahawks offense look more like the fun, high-scoring, first-half-of-the-season offense, or will they be the second-half-of-the-season team who runs the ball to their detriment?

The addition of former Las Vegas Raiders guard Gabe Jackson and former Rams tight end Gerald Everett are good moves for an offense that needed O-line help and has tons of room for a tight end to shine.

Wilson is the QB8 on FF Calculator, that is a bargain if I’ve ever seen one. He’s currently our staff’s QB8 for 2021. Buy Russell Wilson. 

Wide Receivers
PPR
Rank
STD RankPlayerGTGTRECYDSTDSTD PTSSTD PTS/GPPR PTSPPR PTS/G
65DK Metcalf16129831,30310188.311.8271.316.96
811Tyler Lockett161321001,05410165.410.3265.416.59
6458David Moore164735417683.85.2118.87.43
128122Freddie Swain122113159227.92.340.93.41
203198Penny Hart111302.22.23.23.2

D.K. Metcalf ascended to fantasy super-stardom in 2020, his second year in the league. As tough as it would be to improve on his WR5 finish, it seems well within the realm of possibility for Metcalf to hone his technique in Year 3, a truly unfair prospect for a man of his size and speed. Metcalf is in the conversation to be drafted as the WR3 in all formats. He’s ranked the WR11 in our staff’s rankings—but not because of me. He’s my WR7.

Tyler Lockett is currently the WR23, and his streaky play in 2020 left many owners feeling burned. But, at the back end of the WR2 range, he is an absolute set it and forget it steal.

There is room for another receiver to be a spot starter/flex for fantasy GMs, but I would not spend any draft capital trying to guess who that will be.

Running Backs
PPR RankSTD RankPlayerGATTYDSTDTGTRECYDSTDSTD PTSSTD PTS/GPPR PTSPPR PTS/G
1916Chris Carson12141681546372874150.812.6187.815.65
5754Carlos Hyde10813564201693068.96.984.98.49
7375DeeJay Dallas83410822017111139.9556.97.11
9091Travis Homer92588010990123.82.632.83.64
10495Alex Collins318772214020.16.721.17.03
143139Rashaad Penny31134000003.41.13.41.13
144140Bo Scarbrough1631000003.13.13.13.1
151149Nick Bellore115011901.41.42.42.4

Only Alvin Kamara and Kareem Hunt had more receiving touchdowns (5) than Chris Carson (4) in 2020. Kamara played in 15 games, Hunt in 16, Carson in 12. The perennially under-drafted Carson is currently sticking around until the end of the third round, going as the RB19. He’s our RB16 this year.

I will not be leaving drafts without Chris Carson if his ADP doesn’t correct. 

Tight End
PPR
Rank
STD RankPlayerGTGTRECYDSTDSTD PTSSTD PTS/GPPR PTSPPR PTS/G
4038Jacob Hollister134025209338.9363.94.92
4342Will Dissly142924251237.12.761.14.36
4650Greg Olsen113724239129.92.753.94.9
102101Colby Parkinson1221601.61.63.63.6

There is plenty of work for tight ends in Seattle. We’ve seen before unknown tight ends materialize overnight and then disappear just as quickly due to injury. Gerald Everett joins the team for 2021, and he’s was on the fantasy radar before being over-shadowed by Tyler Higbee in LA. 

Everett just about doesn’t have an ADP (TE23), but you shouldn’t be leaving your drafts without him as a shot in the dark TE2. I have him ranked as my TE7 for 2021.

What Does It All Mean?!?! (AKA – Bold predictions)

Buy Seahawks, buy them all!

_____

Thanks to FFToday.com for hosting such great stats info!

Thanks to TheHuddle.com for their great Coaching Change Tracker